Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Chiropractic helps effectively against headaches

Chiropractic helps effectively against headaches

Published 30 March 2021 | General Studies

Not all headaches are the same. Experts distinguish between cervical headache, migraine and tension headache, for example. Cervical headache usually starts on one side at the back of the head and moves forward, often accompanied by shoulder or arm pain. Cervical headaches often do not improve with medication. In migraine, throbbing, one-sided headaches, flashing in the eyes, nausea and vomiting, neurological disorders, sometimes toothache are common. It plagues about eight million people in this country, women three times as often as men. Migraines usually come as attacks for several days. Episodic tension headaches are also very common. They are caused by muscle tension due to prolonged tension in the neck, shoulders or head.

There are numerous medications - either acute or preventive. What many sufferers do not know: Chiropractic also helps effectively against various headaches. There are numerous studies that prove this.1

For example, spinalmanipulation of the spine helps against cervical headaches:
- Here, the chiropractor applies a guided, controlled force to specific joints of the cervical spine.
- Joint mobilisation also helps. Here, the therapist passively moves the joints of the cervical spine and makes them more mobile again.

For migraine, the chiropractor has the following therapy options:
- In neuromuscular massage, the chiropractor massages specific trigger points in the back, shoulder, neck and head. As a result, the muscles relax and blood circulation improves. The pressure on the nerves that send pain signals to the brain is minimised.
- Additional relief is provided by a combination of physiotherapeutic and sports medicine exercises, relaxation techniques, stress management and nutritional counselling.

For tension headaches, the therapist combines:
- Trigger point therapy, physiotherapeutic mobilisation and stretching with other therapies.

 

1https://www.jmptonline.org/article/S01 61-4754(11)00068-6/fulltext

Chiropractic helps effectively against headaches

Strength training groups will be held again at the Chirohouse from 18.09.21. Learn more

Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Chiropraktik hilft effektiv gegen Kopfschmerz

Chiropraktik hilft effektiv gegen Kopfschmerz

Veröffentlicht am 30. März 2021 | Allgemein Studien

Kopfschmerz ist nicht gleich Kopfschmerz. Experten unterscheiden zum Beispiel zervikalen Kopfschmerz, Migräne oder Spannungskopfschmerz. Der zervikale Kopfschmerz beginnt meist einseitig am Hinterkopf und wandert nach vorne, oft von Schulter- oder Armschmerzen begleitet. Zervikale Kopfschmerzen lassen sich durch Medikamente oft nicht bessern. Bei Migräne sind pochende, einseitige Kopfschmerzen, Blitzen in den Augen, Übelkeit und Erbrechen, neurologische Störungen, manchmal Zahnschmerzen häufig. Sie peinigt hierzulande rund acht Millionen Menschen, Frauen dreimal so häufig wie Männer. Meist kommt die Migräne als Attacke für mehrere Tage. Auch episodische Spannungskopfschmerzen sind sehr häufig. Sie entstehen durch Muskelverspannungen aufgrund längerer Verspannungen im Nacken, in den Schultern oder im Kopf.

Es gibt zahlreiche Medikamente – entweder akut oder vorbeugend. Was viele Betroffene nicht wissen: Auch die Chiropraktik hilft effektiv gegen verschiedene Kopfschmerzen. Es gibt zahlreiche Studien, die das nachweisen.1

So hilft zum Beispiel die spinale Manipulation der Wirbelsäule gegen zervikale Kopfschmerzen:
• Dabei übt der Chiropraktor eine geführte, kontrollierte Kraft auf bestimmte Gelenke der Halswirbelsäule aus.
• Zudem hilft die Gelenkmobilisation. Dabei bewegt der Therapeut die Gelenke der Halswirbelsäule passiv und macht sie wieder beweglicher.

Bei der Migräne hat der Chiropraktor folgende Therapieoptionen:
• Bei der Neuromuskulären Massage massiert der Chiropraktor bestimmte Triggerpunkte in Rücken, Schulter, Nacken und Kopf. In der Folge entspannen sich die Muskeln, die Durchblutung wird verbessert. Der Druck auf die Nerven, die die Schmerzsignale an das Gehirn senden, wird minimiert.
• Zusätzliche Linderung bietet die Kombination von physiotherapeutischen und sportmedizinischen Übungen, Entspannungstechniken, Stressbewältigung und eine Ernährungsberatung.

Bei Spannungskopfschmerzen kombiniert der Therapeut:
• die Triggerpunkttherapie, die physiotherapeutische Mobilisation und Dehnung mit anderen Therapien.

 

 https://www.jmptonline.org/article/S0161-4754(11)00068-6/fulltext

Chiropraktik hilft effektiv gegen Kopfschmerz

Ab dem 18.09.21 finden im Chirohouse wieder Krafttrainingsgruppen statt. Mehr erfahren