NEWS CHIROHOUSE

More than "just" headaches

More than "just" headaches

Published 23 September 2021 | General Studies

 

Chiropractic for various headaches Chirohouse Berlin

The International Headache Society1 lists over 100 different headache variants in its register. These differ in cause, type, severity, duration and symptoms. Over 90% of patients are affected by primary headaches, such as tension headaches or migraines.

In contrast to secondary headaches, i.e. headaches as a symptom of another disease, further diagnostics by means of EEG, MRI or CT are usually unnecessary for clarification in the case of primary headaches. An exact diagnosis is made by a detailed history interview and a physical and neurological examination. In addition, the evaluation of a headache diary can be helpful for therapy planning.

Therapy

For an effective treatment plan, it is necessary to take into account the patient's physical, psychological and social factors. Therefore, headache patients benefit from a multidisciplinary team of doctors, psychologists and therapists.

For the successful treatment of headaches, the patient's cooperation is essential. Only in this way is it possible to identify the causes of headaches in everyday life, to define individual and achievable goals and to understand the need for changes and therapy methods.

Tips for tension headache

A regular daily routine with breaks, sufficient sleep, physical exercise and relaxation exercises has a preventive effect.

For acute tension headaches, self-massage, therapeutic massage treatments or painkillers can help. For chronic tension headaches, make sure that painkillers are not taken for more than 3 days in a row and for a maximum of 10 days a month to avoid additional headaches due to medication overuse.

Tips for migraine
A consistent sleep-wake rhythm, which is also maintained at weekends, has a preventive effect. It is helpful to take regular meals and breaks in everyday life. Daily and weekly planning is recommended to avoid stress.
Stressful phases that cannot be avoided can be mastered with the help of relaxation techniques. Learning to say "no" and to delimit duties and tasks is also helpful to get through everyday life in a more relaxed way.

Chiropractic and Headache

Based on the patient's medical history and an individual examination, it is determined whether there is a connection between the existing headaches and the musculoskeletal system. The functional state of the joints, muscles, tendons and nerves is examined. Chiropractic treatment is useful and helpful if the headache is partly or completely mechanical.

Cervicogenic headache

Headache from the cervical spine (cervicogenic headache) typically starts in the neck and spreads across the top of the skull towards the forehead and eye. It is triggered or intensified by head and neck movements or by pressure on certain points at the back of the head and cervical spine (trigger points).

Blocked joints can be treated with targeted manual treatments. This is done through gentle, mobilising movements or a precisely executed impulse. The joint is moved within its anatomical limits. An audible and harmless noise (cracking) may occur.

For a noticeable and long-term improvement of headache symptoms, different changes in everyday life are necessary. An analysis of sleep patterns and various stress factors as well as dietary habits help. Physical exercise and specific exercises play an important role. Cooperation with the patient, involved doctors and other therapists is an essential part of the treatment plan.

 

State of the research: Chiropractic and headache

Tension headache

The review (systematic review and meta-analysis) by Kroll et al. (2021) analysed the evidence of manual joint therapy, (supervised) exercise, psychological therapy, acupuncture and patient education as treatments for tension headache.

Kroll et al. summarise that in the studies included in the review, there is no evidence regarding serious side effects of the treatment methods investigated. Furthermore, a positive tendency of the treatment methods can be observed with regard to lower frequency, quality of life, pain intensity and stress symptoms.2

Cerviocogenic headache

Fernandez et al. (2020) review the effectiveness of spinal manipulative therapy (SMT) for cervicogenic headache.

Compared to other manual therapies, SMT shows a better effect in terms of disability, pain intensity and frequency for cervicogenic headache within a short period of time.3

Both reviews point out that the level of evidence and the significance of the reports is limited due to the small number of studies, the relatively small number of study participants and the methodology (especially the risk of bias).2, 3

 


1 International Headache Society (IHS), 2019. IHS Classification ICHD-3. [Online] Available online at: https://ichd-3.org/de/ [Accessed 25 August 2021].
2KrøllLS, Callesen HE, Carlsen LN, et al. Manual joint mobilisation techniques, supervised physical activity, psychological treatment, acupuncture and patient education for patients with tension-type headache. A systematic review and meta-analysis. J Headache Pain. 2021;22(1):96.
3Fernandez, M, Moore, C, Tan, J, et al. Spinal manipulation for the management of cervicogenic headache: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Eur J Pain. 2020; 24: 1687– 1702.

 

 

Experiences & Reviews of Chirohouse  
Fitness training and pelvic floor training for women take place regularly at the Chirohouse. Learn more

Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Mehr als „nur“ Kopfschmerzen

Mehr als „nur“ Kopfschmerzen

Veröffentlicht am 23. September 2021 | Allgemein Studien

 

Chiropraktik bei verschiedenen Kopfschmerzen Chirohouse Berlin

Die International Headache Society1 führt in ihrem Register über 100 verschiedene Kopfschmerzvarianten auf. Diese unterscheiden sich nach Ursache, Art, Ausprägung, Dauer und Symptomen. Über 90% der Patienten sind dabei von primären Kopfschmerzen betroffen, also beispielsweise Spannungskopfschmerzen oder Migräne.

Anders als bei sekundären Kopfschmerzen, also Kopfschmerzen als Symptom einer anderen Erkrankung, ist bei primären Kopfschmerzen eine weitergehende Diagnostik mittels EEG, MRT oder CT zur Abklärung meist unnötig. Eine genaue Diagnose ergibt sich durch ein detailliertes Anamnesegespräch, sowie eine körperliche und neurologische Untersuchung. Zusätzlich kann die Auswertung eines Kopfschmerztagebuches für die Therapieplanung hilfreich seien.

Therapie

Für einen effektiven Therapieplan ist es notwendig körperliche, psychische und soziale Faktoren des Patienten zu berücksichtigen. Daher profitieren Kopfschmerzpatienten von einem multidisziplinären Team aus Ärzten, Psychologen und Therapeuten.

Für die erfolgreiche Behandlung der Kopfschmerzen ist das Mitwirken des Patienten essenziell. Nur so ist es möglich die Ursachen für Kopfschmerzen im Alltag zu erkennen, individuelle und erreichbare Ziele zu definieren sowie die Notwendigkeit von Veränderungen und Therapiemethoden zu verstehen.

Tipps bei Spannungskopfschmerz

Ein regelmäßiger Tagesablauf mit Pausen, ausreichend Schlaf, körperlicher Bewegung und Entspannungsübungen wirkt vorbeugend.

Bei akuten Spannungskopfschmerzen können Selbst-Massagen, therapeutische Massagebehandlungen oder Schmerzmittel helfen. Bei chronischen Spannungskopfschmerzen ist darauf zu achten, dass die Schmerzmittel nicht länger als 3 Tage hintereinander und höchstens an 10 Tagen im Monat eingenommen werden, um zusätzliche Kopfschmerzen durch Medikamentenübergebrauch zu vermeiden.

Tipps bei Migräne
Präventiv wirkt ein beständiger Schlaf-Wach-Rhythmus, der auch am Wochenende beibehalten wird. Es ist hilfreich im Alltag auf regelmäßige Mahlzeiten und Pausen zu achten. Eine Tages- und Wochenplanung ist zur Vermeidung von Stress empfehlenswert.
Nicht vermeidbare stressige Phasen können mit der Hilfe von Entspannungstechniken gemeistert werden. Auch das „Nein“-Sagen zu lernen und Pflichten und Aufgaben abzugrenzen ist hilfreich, um entspannter durch den Alltag zu kommen.

Chiropraktik und Kopfschmerz

Anhand der Krankengeschichte des Patienten und einer individuellen Untersuchung wird ermittelt, ob es einen Zusammenhang zwischen den bestehenden Kopfschmerzen und dem Bewegungsapparat gibt. Hierbei wird der Funktionszustand der Gelenke, Muskeln, Sehnen und Nerven begutachtet. Eine chiropraktische Behandlung ist sinnvoll und hilfreich, wenn die Kopfschmerzen teilweise oder vollständig mechanisch bedingt sind.

Zervikogener Kopfschmerz

Kopfschmerz von der Halswirbelsäule (zervikogener Kopfschmerz) beginnt typischerweise im Nacken und breitet sich über die Schädeldecke in Richtung Stirn und Auge aus. Ausgelöst oder verstärkt wird er durch Kopf- und Nackenbewegungen oder durch Druck auf bestimmte Punkte am Hinterkopf und der Halswirbelsäule (Triggerpunkte).

Mit gezielten manuellen Behandlungen können blockierte Gelenke therapiert werden. Dies geschieht durch sanfte, mobilisierende Bewegungen oder einen präzise ausgeführten Impuls. Das Gelenk wird hierbei innerhalb seiner anatomischen Grenzen bewegt. Es kann dabei zu einem hörbaren und harmlosen Geräusch (Knacken) kommen.

Für eine merkliche und langfristige Verbesserung der Kopfschmerzsymptome sind unterschiedliche Veränderungen im Alltag notwendig. Eine Analyse des Schlafrhythmus und verschiedenster Stressfaktoren sowie der Ernährungsgewohnheiten helfen dabei. Körperliche Bewegung und gezielte Übungen spielen eine wichtige Rolle. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Patienten, involvierten Ärzten und anderen Therapeuten ist ein essenzieller Bestandteil des Behandlungsplans.

 

Stand der Forschung: Chiropraktik und Kopfschmerz

Spannungskopfschmerzen

In der Übersichtsarbeit (systematischen Review und Meta-Analyse) von Kroll et al. (2021) wurde die Evidenz manueller Therapie der Gelenke, (beaufsichtigter) körperlicher Bewegung, psychologischer Therapie, Akupunktur und Patientenaufklärung als Behandlungsmethoden bei Spannungskopfschmerz analysiert.

Kroll et al. fassen zusammen, dass bei den in der Übersicht eingeschlossenen Studien keine Evidenz bezüglich gravierender Nebenwirkungen der untersuchten Behandlungsmethoden besteht. Des Weiteren ist eine positive Tendenz der Behandlungsmethoden hinsichtlich geringerer Häufigkeit, Lebensqualität, Schmerzintensität und der Stresssymptome zu beobachten.2

Zerviokogener Kopfschmerz

Fernandez et al. (2020) untersuchen in einer Übersichtsarbeit die Effektivität manueller Therapie der Wirbelsäule (spinal manipulative therapy – SMT) bei zervikogenem Kopfschmerz.

Im Vergleich zu anderen manuellen Therapien zeigt die SMT hinsichtlich Invalidität, Schmerzintensität und Häufigkeit bei zervikogenem Kopfschmerz innerhalb eines kurzen Zeitraums einen besseren Effekt.3

Beide Übersichtsarbeiten weisen darauf hin, dass der Grad der Evidenz und die Aussagekraft der Berichte aufgrund der geringen Anzahl an Studien, verhältnismäßig geringen Anzahl an Studienteilnehmer*Innen und der Methodik (v.a. Risiko für Verzerrungen) eingeschränkt ist.2, 3

 


1 International Headache Society (IHS), 2019. IHS Classification ICHD-3. [Online] Online Verfügbar unter: https://ichd-3.org/de/ [Zugriff am 25 August 2021].
2Krøll LS, Callesen HE, Carlsen LN, et al. Manual joint mobilisation techniques, supervised physical activity, psychological treatment, acupuncture and patient education for patients with tension-type headache. A systematic review and meta-analysis. J Headache Pain. 2021;22(1):96.
3Fernandez, M, Moore, C, Tan, J, et al. Spinal manipulation for the management of cervicogenic headache: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Eur J Pain. 2020; 24: 1687– 1702.

 

 


Ab dem 18.09.21 finden im Chirohouse wieder Krafttrainingsgruppen statt. Mehr erfahren