Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Back pain study JAMA

Back pain study JAMA

Published 29 January 2021 | Studies

Every second adult has back pain from time to time or constantly in the course of their life. Therapies such as painkillers, medication for muscle relaxation, sport, physiotherapy or heat packs only help some of those affected. Other patients can be helped by spinal manipulation of the spine (SMT) by a chiropractor. This is shown in a review paper in the American medical journal JAMA.

In the meta-analysis, the American researchers tested how effective SMT is compared to other non-manipulative therapies in adults with acute low back pain. In total, the results of 26 randomised clinical trials were included. Chiropractic manipulative therapy was shown to have statistically significant benefits in terms of both pain relief and improvement in function.

However, as the studies differed greatly in terms of quality, patient selection and study design, the results on efficacy also varied. According to the authors of the meta-analysis, the benefit of SMT for acute low back pain is about as great as that of painkillers such as non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs.1

1https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2616395

Chirohouse Chiropractic Berlin www.chirohouse.de - chiropractic, chiropractors, chirotherapists, innovative therapy, prevention, training - Chirohouse Back Pain Study Help

Experiences & Reviews of Chirohouse

Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Studie Rückenschmerz JAMA

Studie Rückenschmerz JAMA

Veröffentlicht am 29. Januar 2021 | Studien

Jeder zweite Erwachsene hat im Laufe seines Lebens ab und an oder ständig Rückschmerzen. Therapien wie Schmerzmittel, Medikamente zur Muskelentspannung, Sport, Physiotherapie oder Wärmepackungen helfen nur einigen der Betroffenen. Anderen Patienten können von der spinalen Manipulation der Wirbelsäule (SMT) durch den Chiropraktor helfen. Das zeigt eine Übersichtsarbeit im amerikanischen Ärzteblatt JAMA.

In der Meta-Analyse prüften die amerikanischen Forscher, wie wirksam die SMT im Vergleich zu anderen nicht-manipulativen Therapien bei Erwachsenen mit akuten Kreuzschmerzen ist. Insgesamt flossen die Ergebnisse von 26 randomisierten klinischen Studien ein. Die chiropraktische Manipulationstherapie zeigte sich darin mit statistisch signifikanten Vorteilen, sowohl was die Linderung der Schmerzen anging als auch die Verbesserung der Funktion.

Da sich die Studien sowohl in der Qualität, der Auswahl an Patienten und dem Studiendesign stark unterschieden, waren allerdings auch die Ergebnisse zur Wirksamkeit unterschiedlich. Den Autoren der Metaanalyse zufolge ist der Nutzen der SMT bei akuten Kreuzschmerzen etwa so groß ist wie der von Schmerzmitteln wie nicht-steroidale Antirheumatika.1

1https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2616395

Chirohouse Rückenschmerzen Studie Hilfe