Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Yoga and sports therapy help against chronic low back pain

Yoga and sports therapy help against chronic low back pain

Published 26 April 2021 | General Studies

They do the sun salutation, the dog, the cobra and the warrior, daily and worldwide: yoga is booming. According to the BDY, the professional association of yoga teachers, millions of Germans stretch, strengthen and breathe regularly. And science is diligently investigating how effective the ancient Indian healing method is. Yoga is one of the best-studied methods of complementary medicine. A Pubmed search for the keyword yoga alone yields around 6,000 hits.

But yoga is not only fun. Millions of yogis practise yoga to combat stress, depression, migraines, sleep, blood pressure, joint and muscle problems. Yoga is also popular against back pain. The smallest movements first get the spine moving again. Then the torso and abdominal muscles are strengthened and the pelvis is straightened. In addition, the art of movement increases blood circulation so that the muscles warm up. Muscle tension and the pressure on the small vertebral joints are released.

Yoga has also proven to be an effective therapy for chronic low back pain. However, it has long been disputed how effective yoga is, both in terms of time and in comparison to other physiotherapeutic exercises. A recent meta-analysis now confirms that yoga - similar to sports and physiotherapeutic exercises - can reduce pain more effectively after four to eight weeks than no exercise. Yoga can even significantly improve physical function over twelve months. The literature search included a total of 18 high-quality studies.

So for people with chronic low back pain, it's time to get on the mat, either for yoga or with a sports therapist. In yoga, both the classic Hatha yoga and Iyengar yoga, which is very physical and places great emphasis on standing postures, are permitted. People with back pain should be cautious with those variations that focus on brisk movements and involve a lot of jumping - such as power yoga or asthanga. These forms of yoga are only suitable when the back muscles are already strong.

Chirohouse Chiropractic Berlin www.chirohouse.de - chiropractic, chiropractors, chirotherapists, innovative therapy, prevention, training - read the news: Yoga and sports therapy help against chronic low back pain. Regular practice brings relief.

Experiences & Reviews of Chirohouse

Taking too long? Close loading screen.

NEWS CHIROHOUSE

Yoga und Sporttherapie helfen gegen chronischen Kreuzschmerz

Yoga und Sporttherapie helfen gegen chronischen Kreuzschmerz

Veröffentlicht am 26. April 2021 | Allgemein Studien

Sie machen den Sonnengruß, den Hund, die Kobra und den Krieger, täglich und weltweit: Yoga boomt. Dem Berufsverband der Yogalehrenden BDY zufolge dehnen, kräftigen und atmen Millionen Deutsche regelmäßig. Und die Wissenschaft untersucht fleißig, wie wirksam die altindische Heilmethode ist. Yoga ist eines der bestuntersuchten Verfahren der Komplementärmedizin. Rund 6000 Treffer ergibt die Pubmed-Suche allein beim Stichwort Yoga.

Doch Yoga macht nicht nur Spaß. Millionen Yogis praktizieren mit Yoga gegen Stress, Depression, Migräne, Schlaf-, Blutdruck-, Gelenk- und Muskelprobleme an. Beliebt ist Yoga zudem gegen Rückenschmerzen. Dabei bringen kleinste Bewegungsabläufe zunächst die Wirbelsäule wieder in Schwung. Anschließend werden die Rumpf- und Bauchmuskulatur gekräftigt und das Becken aufgerichtet. Zudem erhöht die Bewegungskunst die Durchblutung, so dass sich die Muskulatur erwärmt. Muskelverspannungen und der Druck auf die kleinen Wirbelgelenke lösen sich.

Yoga hat sich auch als effektive Therapie bei chronischen Kreuzschmerzen erwiesen. Allerdings war lange umstritten, wie effektiv Yoga sowohl zeitlich als auch im Vergleich zu anderen physiotherapeutischen Übungen ist. Aktuell bestätigt nun eine Metaanalyse: Yoga kann – ähnlich wie sport- und physiotherapeutische Übungen – Schmerzen nach vier bis acht Wochen effektiver verringern als keine Bewegung. Die körperliche Funktion kann Yoga sogar über zwölf Monate deutlich verbessern. Die Literaturrecherche schloss insgesamt 18 qualitativ hochwertig durchgeführte Studien ein.

Für Menschen mit chronischen Kreuzschmerzen heißt es also: Rauf auf die Matte, entweder beim Yoga oder beim Sporttherapeuten. Beim Yoga sind sowohl das klassische Hatha-Yoga erlaubt oder auch Iyengar-Yoga, das stark körperbetont ist und großen Wert auf Stehhaltungen legt. Vorsichtig sollten Menschen mit Rückenschmerzen bei jenen Varianten sein, bei denen flotte Bewegungen im Vordergrund stehen und bei denen viel gesprungen wird – wie zum Beispiel bei Power-Yoga oder Asthanga. Diese Yogaformen eignen sich erst, wenn die Rückenmuskulatur schon gestärkt ist.

ChiroHouse Yoga